skip to main content

Dignity for All Students Act (DASA)

New York State legislators enacted a law, “The Dignity for All Students Act,” effective July 1, 2012. The Dignity Act makes it the official policy of New York State that all students in public schools have the right to an education free of discrimination and harassment. Schools are required by law to post the names and contact information of the Dignity Act Coordinators (DAC) for each school building. The following school officials have been appointed to these roles:

Hampton Street School
Leigh Shaw, Principal
516-237-2200
lshaw@mineola.k12ny.us
Zoila Castillo, Social Worker
516-237-2247
zcastillo@mineola.k12.ny.us

 

Meadow Drive School
Sara Ortiz, Principal
516-237-2400
sortiz@mineola.k12.ny.us
Lila Zahed, Social Worker
516-237-2447
lzahed@mineola.k12.ny.us

 

Jackson Avenue School
Dr. Janet Gonzalez, Principal
516-237-2300
janetgonzalez@mineola.k12.ny.us
Angie Loukatos, Assistant Principal
516-237-2319
aloukatos@mineola.k12.ny.us
Zoila Castillo, Social Worker
516-237-2247
zcastillo@mineola.k12.ny.us
Lila Zahed, Social Worker
516-237-2447
lzahed@mineola.k12.ny.us

 

Mineola Middle School
Steve Benner, Dean of Students
516-237-2542
sbenner@mineola.k12.ny.us
Marta Fernandez, Social Worker
516-237-2547
mfernandez@mineola.k12.ny.us

 

Mineola High School
Dr. Lisa Downey, Assistant Principal
516-237-2620
ldowney@mineola.k12.ny.us
Stacey Rosenblatt, Social Worker
516-237-2648
srosenblatt@mineola.k12.ny.us