Learners Honored by BOE

Picture of Students Honored thumbnail251597
Picture of Students Honored thumbnail251599
Picture of Students Honored thumbnail251600
Picture of Students Honored thumbnail251601
Picture of Students Honored thumbnail251602
The district congratulates the learners who were recognized by the board of education for their awards and accomplishments at the Nov. 2 meeting.

The meeting began with recognition of 21 student leaders who recently led the Mineola Mustangs Marching Band to their second consecutive Small School Division 1 championship at the New York State Field Band Conference. Honorees included Drum Majors JoJo Owens, Aimee Elias and Frank Ramos, Rookie Liaisons Igor DeSouza and Sarah Geoghan, section leaders Diana Smykiv (Flute), Mary Elias (Clarinet), Leah Chang (Saxophone), John Valentino (Trumpet), Arnav Shah (Mellophone), Michael Jimenez (Low Brass), Jake Gaimaro (Bass and Battery), Hunter Polmar (Snare), Kieran Kim (Tenor), Jessica Perrino and Noelia Quintao-Lazaro (Pit), Donnjeta Becerra, Samantha Caetano and Isabella DeFilippo (Color Guard) and social media manager Jordan Chaver and operations manager Shane Kelly.

Next up, the board recognized the student musicians who earned New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) All-State designation and will be representing Mineola at the NYSSMA Winter Conference. These honorees included Aimee Elias, Michael Jimenez, Justin Kim, Paul McKenna and Daniel Perrino.

Visual arts took center stage as the eight Mineola students who were selected by New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) to have their art displayed at the New York State School Boards Association (NYSSBA) convention were honored, including Camila Amaya, Penelope Ambrose, Kaitlyn Claros, Emma Foley, Prashasti Huyliya, Brooke Marek, Mia Sementelli and Anda Vasian. Jordan Chaver was also recognized for having artwork selected by the Huntington Arts Council for their annual Nightmare on Main St. Exhibit.

Finally, interim principal Mr. Escobar introduced the MHS class of 2024 valedictorian Ria Thomas and salutatorian Lucas Beresheim. Both learners were honored for their exceptional academic accomplishments as well as for personifying the Mineola spirit with passion, perseverance and dedication.

We are #MineolaProud of each and every one of you for these amazing achievements and recognitions!

Date Added: 11/6/2023